Multiculturalism in Canada

Chatting with a 75 year old caucasian neighbor of German heritage this evening, it is apparent that as polite and accommodating as Canadians are, they are fed up with “Multiculturalism”, code for why so many immigrants?

I asked her if “Brown” people like me, should not be allowed into Canada, she categorically said, ” they should be allowed, but for heaven’s sake, they should all speak English like my parents had to do when they came almost 100 years ago.”

She then went on to add. “I had no idea you were Indian” ! I told her I am, and speak four Indian languages! “But your English is so good”. I did tell her that I started school in England, but there were excellent English medium schools in India. Her comment?

Why dont they come to Canada? I rest my case.

Leave a Reply

